Crown of Scotland

A small hill with a grand name. Could this be where Robert the Bruce first made an alliance with his lifelong friend, James Douglas, on his way to Scone to be crowned King of Scotland?

Bronze Age

The ancient “Rotten Bottom” Yew Bow found near the Source of Gameshope Burn in 1991 has been dated between 4040 and 3840BCE. It is on display at the Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh.

Talla Reservoir

A feat of Victorian engineering, involving great manpower and even a temporary railway, Talla opened in 1905 to bring water to the people of Edinburgh, as it still does today.

Myths & Legends

Our corner of the wild and beautiful Southern Uplands harbours fascinating tales, from Merlin to Bonnie Bertha and King Kenneth, Jack the Giant Killer to the terrifying Border Reivers.

Carlowse Brig

Picturesque single-arch bridge of rubble masonry rebuilt in 1783. It crosses the Tweed at a narrow point where it passes through a rocky gorge. The current bridge was repaired in 2014.

Standing Stones

Dating from about 2000 BCE, three megaliths straddle the road to Fruid. The largest is known as the Giant’s Stone.

Tweedsmuir Kirk

A succession of religious buildings have occupied the mound known as the Quarter Knowe, since the Bronze Age. Tweedsmuir’s distinctive kirk, built in 1874, is the latest.

The Crook Inn

For centuries, the Crook Inn has been a refuge for travellers and a meeting place for locals. In 1604 it became one of the first inns in Scotland to be licensed.

Burns in Tweedsmuir

Rabbie Burns, Scotland’s national poet, wrote his much loved poem, Willie Wastle, at the Crook Inn.